$sitename

AstraTech Cup 2006

logo-astratech-cup-2006.jpg

From 07/14/2006 - 07/16/2006 at the Oberwerth gym in Koblenz, was the first international Astra Tech Cup in Germany. For this European preparation for the World Cup tournament in September of this year in New Zealand, the agency SahmSport had the strongest nations of the European wheelchair rugby loaded. Top occupied with the national teams from Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Poland, Sweden and Switzerland, were all prerequisites for an exciting tournament optimally. Not common, but for a preparatory tournament perfectly planned, the group stage was in play mode round robin, i.e. each against all everyone with subsequent play-offs.

Thus, the preliminary round drew from many exciting and some very tight games.

astratechcup2006_01.jpg

Preliminary results table:

  1. Germany
  2. Sweden
  3. Belgium
  4. Switzerland
  5. Poland
  6. Denmark

Well-rested and after the gala buffet at the Hotel Mercure strengthened on Saturday evening, the teams were on Sunday in the group stage. In the game for position 5 and 6 then played the teams from Poland and Denmark.

astratechcup2006_02.jpg astratechcup2006_03.jpg

In the group stage, Denmark against the Polish team still good resistance and lost almost conceivable with 24:25 points, now it was different. The Danes were arrived with some young talent and with 5 games already had to deal with 36:20 clearly beaten.

astratechcup2006_04.jpg For Belgium and Switzerland, we went in the small final to place 3 and 4. The Swiss, who are already weakened arrived, without their leading player Toni Schillig, would not spared from further bad luck. Their playmaker Luzius Diener, could not intervene in this decisive game, becouse he was injured and had the game from the bench as spectators watch. Nevertheless, both teams gave nothing and after hard struggle underwent the Swiss team with 37:32.

astratechcup2006_05.jpg In the finals, Sweden against the German selection, was more than just win the tournament at stake. 3 weeks ago, in Vancouver Canada, Sweden had with only one point the German team beaten. Now it was necessary for the upcoming World Cup, to make a clear signale. Tactically well set by chief coach Pierre Sahm, was already clear to the halftime, which is finally confirmed - Germany has its favorites role in the game deserved with 42 to 33 for themselves.

astratechcup2006_06.jpg

astratechcup2006_07.jpg

In the subsequent award of best player of the tournament in each game classes, could be from a German perspective pleased with Peter Schreiner 0,5 points, Andre Leonhard 2,0 points, Jörg Holzem 2,5 points and Oliver Picht 3,0 points four players of the German team claim. By Bo Petersen 1,0 points (Denmark), Ronny Verhaegen 1,5 points (Belgium), Cornel Sonderer 3,5 points (Switzerland) and the tournament MVP Pelle Kulle 2,0 points from Sweden completed the All-Star team.

astratechcup2006_08.jpg

Special thanks to the referees and assistants for a smooth running of the tournament ensured. Thanks also to the Hotel Mercure for the exquisite accommodation and along with the Oberwerth gym for the excellent catering. The agency SahmSport would like to thank particularly the main sponsors Astra Tech and Meyra for the support and we are looking forward, to welcome all the teams from this tournament to Astra Tech Cup 2007 in Koblenz next year.

$sitename

AstraTech Cup 2006

logo-astratech-cup-2006.jpg

Vom 14.07.2006 - 16.07.2006 fand in der Koblenzer Oberwerth Halle der erste in Deutschland ausgerichtete internationale Astra Tech Cup statt. Zu diesem europäischen Vorbereitungsturnier für die WM im Sept. des Jahres in Neuseeland, hatte die Agentur SahmSport die stärksten Nationen des europäischen Rollstuhlrugbys geladen. Top besetzt mit den National-Teams aus Belgien, Dänemark, Deutschland, Polen, Schweden und der Schweiz waren alle Vorraussetzungen für ein spannendes Turnier optimal gesetzt. Unüblich, aber für ein Vorbereitungsturnier perfekt geplant, wurde die Vorrunde im Spielmodus Round Robin, d.h. jeder gegen jeden mit anschließenden Platzierungsspielen, durchgeführt.

So zeichnete sich die Vorrunde auch durch viele spannende und zum Teil sehr knappe Spiele aus.

astratechcup2006_01.jpg

Ergebnistabelle der Vorrunde:

  1. Deutschland
  2. Schweden
  3. Belgien
  4. Schweiz
  5. Polen
  6. Dänemark

Gut ausgeruht und nach dem Gala-Büffet im Hotel Mercure am Samstagabend gestärkt, gingen die Teams am Sonntag in die Platzierungspiele. Dort trafen im Spiel um Platz 5 und 6 die Teams aus Polen und Dänemark aufeinander.

astratechcup2006_02.jpg astratechcup2006_03.jpg

Konnte Dänemark dem polnischen Team in der Vorrunde guten Widerstand leisten und verlor denkbar knapp mit 24:25 Punkten, sah es nun anders aus. Die Dänen waren mit einigen Nachwuchstalenten angereist und mit bereits 5 Spielen im Gepäck mussten sie sich mit 36:20 deutlich geschlagen geben.

astratechcup2006_04.jpg Für Belgien und die Schweiz ging es dann im kleinen Finale um Platz 3 und 4. Die Schweizer die bereits ohne ihren Führungsspieler Toni Schillig geschwächt angereist waren, blieben von weiterem Pech leider nicht verschont. Ihr Spielmacher Luzius Diener konnte in dieser entscheidenden Partie verletzungsbedingt nicht in den Spielverlauf eingreifen und musste dem Spiel von der Bank aus als Zuschauer folgen. Trotzdem schenkten sich beide Teams nichts und nach hartem Kampf unterlag die Schweizer Mannschaft mit 37:32.

astratechcup2006_05.jpg Im Finale Schweden gegen die deutsche Auswahl, stand mehr als nur der Turniersieg auf dem Spiel. Hatten doch die Schweden 3 Wochen zuvor im Kanadischen Vancouver mit nur einem Punkt das deutsche Team geschlagen. Nun galt es für die kommende WM ein deutliches Zeichen zu setzen. Taktisch gut eingestellt durch Chef-Trainer Pierre Sahm zeichnete sich bereits zur Halbzeit klar ab, was sich zum Schluß bestätigen sollte - Deutschland konnte seiner Favoriten Rolle gerecht werden und das Spiel verdient mit 42 zu 33 für sich entscheiden.

astratechcup2006_06.jpg

astratechcup2006_07.jpg

Bei der anschließenden Prämierung der besten Spieler des Turniers in den jeweiligen Spielklassen, konnten sich aus deutscher Sicht erfreulicherweise mit Peter Schreiner 0,5 Punkte, Andre Leonhard 2,0 Punkte, Jörg Holzem 2,5 Punkte und Oliver Picht 3,0 Punkte vier Spieler der deutschen Natio behaupten. Mit Bo Petersen 1,0 Punkte (Dänemark), Ronny Verhaegen 1,5 Punkte (Belgien), Cornel Sonderer 3,5 Punkte (Schweiz) und dem Turnier MVP Pelle Kulle 2,0 Punkte aus Schweden komplettierte sich das All- Star-Team.

astratechcup2006_08.jpg

Besonderer Dank gilt den Schiedsrichtern und Helfern die für einen reibungslosen Ablauf des Turniers gesorgt haben. Danke auch dem Hotel Mercure für die exquisite Unterbringung und der zusammen mit dem Catering der Sporthalle Oberwerth hervorragenden Verpflegung. Die Agentur Sahmsport möchte sich besonders für die Unterstützung der Hauptsponsoren Astra Tech und Meyra bedanken und freut sich im nächsten Jahr alle Teams des diesjährigen Turniers zum Astra Tech Cup 2007 in Koblenz begrüßen zu dürfen.